Eglinton Primary School and Early Year Centre



Protected Characteristics

At Eglinton, we ensure that our children understand that:

  • Everyone is different
  • Our differences are celebrated
  • We are equal in our differences

The Equality Act became law in 2010 to protect everyone in Britain from discrimination, harassment and victimisation due to the protected characteristics we all have. Under the Equality Act, it is against the law to discriminate against anyone because of the 9 protected characteristics, as follows:-

  • Age
  • Disability
  • Sex
  • Gender reassignment
  • Race
  • Religion or Belief
  • Sexual orientation
  • Marriage and civil partnership
  • Pregnancy and maternity

 The Equality Act protects you from discrimination:

  • At work
  • In education
  • As a consumer
  • When using public services
  • When buying or renting property
  • As a member or guest of a private club or association 

 9 Protective Characteristics - Curriculum Map